Taylor Lautner Wins Breakout Performance Award
And Debuts World Premiere Footage Of “The Twilight Saga: New Moon”

Franchise Reboot Of “Star Trek” Tops The Competition With Six Honors With Original Captain Kirk, William Shatner, On Hand

“SCREAM 2009” Premieres Tuesday, October 27 At 10 PM, ET/PT On Spike TV

Two vampire sagas thrived at night at “SCREAM 2009,” the first and only event honoring the best in fantasy, sci-fi, comics and horror.  “Twilight” sunk its teeth into four trophies, including best Fantasy Movie, with Breakout Performance winner Taylor Lautner on hand to unveil world premiere footage from the forthcoming “Twilight Saga: New Moon.”  Not to be outdone, HBO smash hit “True Blood” garnered four awards, with series creator Alan Ball and cast members Anna Paquin, Stephen Moyer, Alexander Skarsgård, Sam Trammell and Rutina Wesley in attendance to accept their honors.  The star-studded event was held at the Greek Theatre in Los Angeles and premieres on Spike TV on Tuesday, October 27 (10:00 PM – Midnight, ET/PT).

One of the night’s highlights featured an on stage legend meeting an on screen icon, as Keith Richards was presented the SCREAM Rock Immortal award by Johnny Depp at Spike TV’s “SCREAM 2009.”  The living legend, Rolling Stones guitarist and songwriter was greeted by a standing ovation before receiving his introduction to immortality from Depp, who famously patterned his Academy Award-nominated turn as Captain Jack Sparrow in “The Pirates of the Caribbean” movie trilogy after Richards.  

Also on hand was Megan Fox, star of “Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen,” which captured five awards, including one for Fox’s female lead performance.  She accepted the award and reaffirmed her dedication to the franchise’s continued success.

Legendary creator of some of the most famous comic book franchises in history, including Spider-Man, Iron Man and the X-Men, Stan Lee left the audience with mouths agape as the 86-year-old visionary arrived on stage via a giant spider to accept the Comic-Con Icon award from Peter Parker himself, Tobey Maguire.

A franchise that is certain to live long and prosper, the JJ Abrams reboot of “Star Trek” led the way with six honors, including the night’s most prestigious, The Ultimate Scream, accepted by the original Captain Kirk, William Shatner.

The cast of the “Big Bang Theory” introduced a tribute to one of the decade’s most influential science fiction series, “Battlestar Galactica.”  A moving cast reunion for a farewell tribute took place, featuring Edward James Olmos, Tricia Helfer, Grace Park, James Callis, Kate Vernon, Katee Sackhoff, Michael Trucco, Tahmoh Penikett and executive producer David Eick.  Olmos led the crowd in a rousing rendition of “So Say We All” after thanking the passionate “Battlestar Galactica” fanbase for its support over the years.

Spike TV also debuted world premiere and exclusive never-before-seen footage from highly anticipated theatrical releases, including the upcoming Martin Scorsese directed “Shutter Island,” which stars Leonardo DiCaprio, Tim Burton’s “Alice In Wonderland” starring Johnny Depp, and the upcoming “Star Trek” sequel.  Also presented was an extensive preview of the forthcoming ABC series, “V.”

The fourth annual “SCREAM” event featured appearances by the industry’s biggest stars including Jessica Alba, Kate Bosworth, Jennifer Carpenter, Eliza Dushku, Harrison Ford, Megan Fox, Morgan Freeman, Jackie Earle Haley, Hugh Jackman, Justin Long, Sam Raimi, John C. Reilly, Christina Ricci, Eli Roth, Liv Tyler and Elijah Wood, among many others.

“For one night only, The Greek Theatre became ‘The Geek Theatre’ as thousands of ravenous fans came together to celebrate their heroes and the films, TV shows and comics they love,” said “SCREAM 2009” co-executive producer Michael Levitt.

For a complete list of winners and to view exclusive red carpet and backstage coverage of this year’s “SCREAM,” visit .

The official sponsors of Spike TV’s “SCREAM 2009” are Taco Bell, Subaru, Geico and
Casey Patterson, Michael Levitt and Cindy Levitt served as executive producers for “SCREAM 2009.”  Greg Sills was supervising producer, Gary Tellalian and Austin Reading were producers and Hamish Hamilton directed.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here